Eckhoff’s candidate for yet another consecutive gold

Biathlon predictions are always ungrateful. Bad day, missed shot, choice of wrong material and extremely tight competition … But without exaggeration, considering Saturday’s sprint outcome, it can be said that the first favourite to win on Sunday’s pursuit is Norwegian Tiril Eckhoff.

She is much stronger in skiing than most of her closest pursuers, but realistically there are at least 10 contestants fighting for the medals. In particular, German Denise Herrmann, silver medalist from Anterselva 2020, and Italian Lisa Vittozzi will seek the mistakes of the competitors, followed by the famous Norwegian Marte Olsbu Roeiseland, who can break through at least to bronze and thus repeat the success from last year’s championships. Sweden’s Hanna Öberg is rounding up the top ten, but she will be almost a minute behind at the start.

In the meantime, Switzerland’s Lena Haecki, Germany’s Franziska Preuss and Austria’s Lisa Theresa Hauser will also seek the mistakes of others. But it is Eckhoff who is the first favourite, as she won three of the four pursuits this year. Italian Dorothea Wierer, the defending champion, is probably without a chance. She was only 20th in sprint.

Unfortunately, the race will go on without the Slovenians, as Polona Klemenčič, Lea Einfalt and debutant Lena Repinc did not qualify for the event.

Start at 3:30 PM.

10 km Pursuit







6 December 2020


Tiril Eckhoff

Marte Olsbu Røiseland

Hanna Öberg

13 December 2020


Marte Olsbu Røiseland

Dzinara Alimbekava

Julia Simon

19 December 2020


Tiril Eckhoff

Hanna Öberg

Elvira Öberg

9 January 2021


Tiril Eckhoff

Marte Olsbu Røiseland

Lisa Theresa Hauser


World Championships 2020


Dorothea Wierer

Denise Herrmann

Marte Olsbu Røiseland